Container Gardening

I’ve been inspired by spring!  I’ve never been very good at growing things (see here), but I decided that I wanted to try gardening this year.  Part of my reason is that I’ve been cooking more, so the idea of having fresh herbs just a few steps away is pretty tempting.

A friend loaned me The Bountiful Container, which is an incredibly helpful and informative book.  I decided I wanted to grow flat leaf parsley, oregano, basil, chives, and bell peppers.

When it got to the actual planting, I realized I really didn’t know how much space each of the plants needed, so I did what I thought looked good and we’ll see how it turns out!  I did a container with the parsley, basil, and oregano, another with a pepper plant and chives, and the last with two pepper plants.

I also picked up some gerbera daises that I just couldn’t resist – we’ll see if I can keep them alive!

Also, for anyone who is concerned about my ficus, here it is today.  Still not fully recovered, but definitely doing much better!

And here’s my little garden!

Any gardening tips for a beginner?  Please share!

Posted at:

Funky Junk's Saturday Nite Special

2 responses to “Container Gardening

  1. Oh my… you have me itching to get outdoors now! If it would only stop raining! I love love LOVE container gardens. Isn’t it cool how you can simply move them upon will? Lovely!

    Thanks for linking up to SNS!
    FJ Donna

  2. Looks great! Love your flowers! I haven’t tried herbs (hope to this year) but I was just reading an article in BHG. I think basil gets pretty big and may fill its own pot (at least 18 in pot it said) You could check their website – it probably has some guideline that may help you. Also, be sure to cut back frequently to encourage growth….that is all I know so far lol

    I’m jealous that you already have yours growing…. maybe I’ll actually get to that this year 🙂
    Patty

Leave a Reply

