Maple Chocolate Chip Cookies

My family makes maple syrup, so I’m always looking for opportunities to add its wonderful flavor into food.  I recently made some cookies with maple syrup, and they turned out okay, but weren’t anything special.  Here’s the recipe I used (its basically just an adaptation of the Tollhouse recipe).

  • 2 1/4 c. flour
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1 c. butter, softened
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 3/4 c. pure maple syrup
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 12 oz chocolate chips

Beat butter, sugar, syrup, and vanilla together.  Beat in eggs, then add dry ingredients.  Mix in chocolate chips.  Bake for 10 minutes at 375.

I actually made a half batch, which was a little tricky (see here for more about my issues with cooking for one person).  The dough seemed a little liquidy to me, so I added another 1/4 cup of flour or so and then chilled it for a while before baking.  Next time I’ll definitely use Grade B syrup (its darker and has a stronger flavor), because the maple flavor wasn’t very noticeable in the cookies.

Do any of you have a good maple cookie recipe?  Or any another maple recipe?  Please share!

Posted at:

giveaways

Funky Junk's Saturday Nite Special

Leave a Reply

