Faux Chandelier

I saw this post about creating a “chandelier” a few weeks ago and have been thinking about doing something similar ever since then.  I absolutely love glittery, glam chandeliers, but there was no way to ever fit one in my current apartment.  My lighting is basically a track with three lights, so I thought I would try doing something with the center light, because its directly over my “living room” area.  I didn’t take any before pictures, but you can see part of the track here.

Here are my supplies.  Two different sizes of clear beads, beading thread, and a pair of scissors.  It cost me $3 for the bag of bigger beads and I had everything else already.  But even if you had to buy every single thing, you could do this project for $5-6.

I just knotted the thread, slid on a small bead, a big one, and then repeated at roughly equal intervals for the length of the thread.  Usually I measure things out, but I did this kind of haphazardly and it worked out wonderfully, so I don’t think any planning is necessary for this.  I did 17 strands, each with 6 sets of beads.  It takes a while, but its easy to do while you’re watching tv or something.

Then I just tied the strands around the light and cut off all the loose ends.  You can still see all the knots if you look closely, but who would do that?

I love the way it looks finished.  It shines beautifully when the lights are on, and it gives my seating area a really warm, cozy feeling.  What do you think?

Posted at:

DIY Day @ ASPTL

Make it Yours @ My Backyard Eden

14 responses to “Faux Chandelier

  1. VERY nice touch. I don’t know where these ideas come from but I wish you were here to decorate the new sun room.

  2. I really think it turned out pretty and modern looking as well.

  3. This looks terrific! Great job!

  4. Looks surprisingly good. Nice job.

  5. This is a wonderful project and you did a fabulous job on it!

  6. Love it. I was working on a chandelier/floor lamp today, too, so this is right up my street. Really simple, but great effect!

  7. I think this looks great! Simple and elegant and not overdone! Nice job!

  8. I LOVE your chandelier! It looks beautiful! Much easier than the way I did mine. 🙂

  9. This is a great finished product. So creative and fun! Thanks for sharing!

  10. How cool!

    m ^..^

  11. Hi,
    I just found you on Make it Yours Day. Great post! I am your newest follower!
    Bonnie
    http://creatingahouseofgrace.blogspot.com

  12. I love this idea! The beads light up so nicely when the light it on! Great job.

    Thanks for linking up to Make it Yours day at My Backyard Eden.

  13. What a great idea. There is a new modern chandelier out very much like this. I wanted it but its sooo expensive and it was just for my bathroom. However your creation has giving me ideas about how to improvise this!! Thanks!!

  14. Just wanted to let you know I featured your project this week at My Backyard Eden.

    http://mybackyardeden.blogspot.com/2010/03/make-it-yours-highlights_15.html

Leave a Reply

