To Glaze or Not To Glaze?

I found a beautiful frame at the thrift store the other day, but I wasn’t really a fan of the color.

Gorgeous detail though!

So I spray painted it in Heirloom White (I’d heard so much about it that I had to give it a try!) and it turned out beautifully.

Now comes the problem.  My original plan was to glaze it to bring out all of the details.  But now that it looks so nice I’m afraid to try it!  I’ve never glazed anything before and I have no idea how it would turn out.  So what do you think?  Glaze it or leave it be?

Posted at:

DIY Day @ ASPTL

Make it Yours @ My Backyard Eden

8 responses to “To Glaze or Not To Glaze?

  1. I say go for it! You can always paint back over! Visiting from Kimba’s site. 🙂

  2. I say go for it. The glazing is easy as pie! It will be beautiful, and like the other comment…you can always paint over it.

  3. yep, I say do it! it will bring out the high points!
    🙂
    it’s a really nice frame!
    gail

  4. Oh, I don’t know. It’s beautiful as is! But I do love some distressing. One technique that I sometimes use (because it’s a little less committed than a full glaze) is to take a wet brush and brush some umber colored acrylic paint in the grooves, adding more in some places, and wiping down however much I need to to get the look I want. This usually works well on wood/ product with lots of detail. I know whatever you do, it will be great…it already is!

  5. I think if you like it as is, then I’d leave it. Maybe you could do the glaze on another frame; or after a few months you may decide you want to add the glaze.

  6. I would have the same dilemma. The nice coat of white paint looks so perfect and flawless that it’s hard to decide whether or not to “mess it up”. Let us know what you decide!

  7. I can’t decide. I do like the look of glaze, but nothing beats a clean fresh coat of paint.

    Let us know what you decide to do!

    Thanks for linking up to Make it Yours day!

  8. Pingback: Beautiful Bulletin Board « A Creative Amateur

Leave a Reply

