Headboard Solution

My lack of a headboard has been bothering me for a while, but I wasn’t sure what I could do about it.  I’d love an upholstered headboard, but even the DIY version is way out of my budget right now.  There was a post on Room Remix the other day featuring this chair and the way they used a scarf to add a punch of color.  It reminded me that I had a similar scarf in my favorite color (teal) that I rarely wear in this SoCal weather, so I pulled it out and found it was the perfect size for a “headboard”.

I didn’t want to put any holes in the scarf or the wall, but I have a nice ledge at just the right height, so I pulled it about an inch onto the ledge and just taped it down in a bunch of spots.  (Yes, I still have Christmas lights up there, but I just think of them as all-season happy lights :).)

I also taped it across the bottom so that it wouldn’t move around.  I ended up with this, but it was a little boring for me.

To add some more visual interest, I added some ribbon.  I spaced them out at equal intervals and then just taped them down as well.  I used a skinny white ribbon because that was what I had on hand, but I think it would also look really nice with a wider patterned ribbon.  Here’s the completed “headboard”.

A little wrinkled, but not too bad for 20 minutes and $0!!

I’m posting this at:

Metamorphosis Monday at

Just Something I Whipped Up Monday at The Girl Creative

Making

Beyond The Picket Fence

DIY Day @ ASPTL

Make it Yours @ My Backyard Eden

Funky Junk’s Saturday Nite Special

Its So Very Cheri

Made It Monday at The Persimmon Perch

8 responses to “Headboard Solution

  1. very clever….and easy to change out when you get bored with blue!

  2. Cute and a wonderful solution to having no headboard.

  3. So simple and uniQue! Way to think outside the box!

  4. Very creative! I love your “Believe” sign t00. And keep the lights – They look so cute up there!
    Best regards,
    Gloria

  5. I love that idea! So simple, but it made such an impact with that beautiful color!

    Thanks for linking up today!

  6. This is very ingenious, thanks for sharing!

  7. Very clever! I love the ribbons you added!

  8. Thanks for linking up. Very ingenious.
    FYI-I have a fun give-a-way starting tonight
    Cheri

Leave a Reply

