Jewelry Display

Today I thought I would post the first project I did after moving in August – these jewelry screens.

I never liked having all my jewelry stuffed into boxes or drawers, especially after I started making my own.  There was just too much of it and I could never find what I wanted.  I made these jewelry screens to hang on an empty wall in my closet and will probably make a couple more at some point to hang more of my necklaces.  Some tall skinny ones that could go on each side of these three would be perfect.

Here are some more details for anyone who’s interested.  I bought some cheap picture frames at Ikea and took out the glass and backing.  These frames were perfect because they were deep, almost more like a shadowbox frame.  You can kind of see in the picture below.

I used regular window screening and just cut it to the size of the glass.  Some sort of wire cutter would probably work best for cutting it.  I used a pair of trauma shears because that’s what I had on hand, and I didn’t have any trouble.  Then I hotglued the screening to the back of the frame (not the very back, but the part the glass rested against).  I found that hotgluing first, then laying the screen down and pushing it into the glue worked best.  You might want to lay the glass back down on top of it to make sure it stays down long enough to dry – I think I put some newpaper or something down first so the glass wouldn’t stick to the glue (if the newspaper does you can just rip it off).

For hanging necklaces and bracelets, I used the smallest S-hooks I could find (you can get them in any hardware store) and stuck them through the screen.  They move side to side a bit, but the weight of the necklaces holds them steady.

Earrings with hooks can just be stuck through the screen and they’ll hang beautifully.  (This is why deep frames are good – you don’t have to worry about them hitting the wall.)  If they have backs, just put them on after putting the earrings through.  Here’s what the back of the frame will look like.

I marked where I wanted the top inside corners of the frames to be, and then put small nails in those spots, but left them sticking out a bit.  Then the frames just fit on nicely.  Probably not the most secure hanging method, but since its not really in danger of being bumped, I went for minimal wall damage.

I love being able to see all of my jewelry in the morning and it also makes putting it away incredibly easy.  I can’t remember how much this cost me, but it definitely wasn’t much, and it took maybe a couple of hours, including organizing my jewelry.

I’ve posted this at Tip Junkie and Thrifty Decor Chick’s cleaning party.  Check out the other projects!


4 responses to “Jewelry Display

  1. wow, what a great idea, I need to do that too!! check out some of my cleaning tips!
    http://creatingahouseofgrace.blogspot.com/2010/01/different-way-to-clean.html

  2. Those are awesome! I just ripped something similar out of the Pottery Barn Catalog. What a great way to see everything.

  3. Thanks for visiting my site! I don’t have room to hang several up unfortunately, but I do love the idea of creating a necklace one too! And the S hooks are great. Who knew they made them so small! Maybe I could make a necklace one to hang. Thanks for the idea!

  4. Pingback: Candle Displays « A Creative Amateur

Leave a Reply

