File Cabinet to Nightstand

My nightstand isn’t quite done, but I’ll show it to you anyway…here it is!

You’ll notice there are no drawer pulls yet.  I realized while I was at Home Depot that my handles are longer than the average cabinet handle (3-3/4″ instead of 3″), so there wasn’t much selection.  I came home with these…

…but I really wasn’t too happy, so I decided to keep looking.  After spending way too long on google and random hardware company sites, I still hadn’t found anything I liked in my price range (everything I liked was over $20).  Then I realized there was another place I hadn’t even thought of – Etsy!  Sure enough, I spent much less time looking and found these beautiful vintage handles for only $6!

I’ll post a picture with them as soon as they arrive.

In the meantime, here’s a quick tutorial on how I covered the drawer fronts.  I cut my fabric so that it covered each drawer with a couple inches of overhang all around.  Then I applied a coat of Mod Podge over the top and on the edges.

Then just center the fabric, smooth it over the front, and down over the edges.  I let it dry for a while before I did the corners.  You could do another coat of Mod Podge on top if you wanted to seal it, but I wanted the softness of the fabric, so I didn’t.

The corners are a little tricky, but just take your time with it.  I cut in towards the cabinet in a few areas so I could lay it down straight and then folded the rest over.  You can kind of see in the picture below.  Just use a lot of Mod Podge to keep it down.

On the top and the bottom I just glued the extra around the edge and down.

Then you’ll end up with this.

A simple, quick way to add color and pattern!  You could do this to pretty much any flat surface.  Hope this is helpful!

I’m participating in DIY Day at A Soft Place to Land, Show and Tell Party at the DIY Showoff, and Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Chic Cottage.  Check them out!

4 responses to “File Cabinet to Nightstand

  1. The nightstand has a modern look to it now. Great idea, it can still be used as a file cabinet but in disguise.

  2. This is a great idea! I keep telling my husband I want to get a filing cabinet and he tells me to use this old two drawer one we have in the garage. I tell him I want a “nice” filing cabinet. This might make it nice!

  3. hi i think you just revolutionized the filing cabinets again. an important furniture worth treasuring. these ideas are great! thanks!

Leave a Reply

