Weekend time is project time!

Welcome to the weekend everyone!  My project for this weekend is to makeover my new nightstand.  I got a basic black file cabinet from Craigslist earlier this week, but it sat in my car until I finally had some daylight today to clean it.

Here it is in its new spot.

So now its a functional nightstand, but don’t worry, I have bigger plans.  First thing to deal with are those handles.

Yes, they are plastic, and yes, that is a faux wood grain.  They’ve gotta go.  I want to replace them with something much prettier and a little ornate so it looks a little less utilitarian and more like something that belongs in a bedroom.

Maybe something like this?

(Source)

Or this.

(Source)

But before that, I want to cover the drawer fronts with some fabric.  I think I should be able to just Mod Podge it on, right?  I’ll find out and let you know 🙂

So tomorrow I’m shopping for some pretty fabric and hardware (on the cheap of course).  Check back soon for the finished product!

Leave a Reply

